This is the "Art and Controversy" page of the "English 9A: Art and Controversy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English 9A: Art and Controversy  

Last Updated: Sep 22, 2014 URL: http://springbrookhs.montgomeryschoolsmd.libguides.com/E9AArtControversy Print Guide RSS Updates
Art and Controversy Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Identify the Problem & Ask Questions

    Search Strategies

    • Locate and search appropriate resources
    • Vary search terms (don't use the same search terms over and over again)
    • Think of synonyms
    • Use Boolean searching
    • Use "quotation marks" to search for exact phrases
    • Be creative
    • Search for a variety of sources - print text, video, audio, still images, speeches, interviews, charts, graphs, research and case studies, and more!

    Some key words to include in your search:

    Biographical:

    • biography
    • childhood
    • education
    • life

    Social/Cultural Controversy

    • controversy
    • controversial

    General:

    • "art movement"
    • museum
    • gallery
    • exhibit
    • collection
    • "historical context"
    • era
    • "time period"
    • analysis
    • criticism
    • review
    • interview
    • opinion
    • argument
        

      Search Engines

      Free Online Resources

      Take a moment to read the 'About Us' information.

      • Who is providing the information?
      • Where did the author find his/her facts, data, information?
      • What is the purpose of the site?
      • When was the site last updated?
      • What is the possible bias?
          
         

        RESOURCES

        Usernames and passwords for subscription databases and e-books are located under the Contents section of the Edline homepage.

         

        Student Resources in Context (Gale/Cengage)

        x
         

        Opposing Viewpoints (Gale/Cengage)

        x
         

        National Geographic Magazine (1888-Current)

        x
         

        Fine Arts and Music Collection (Gale/Cengage)

        x
         

        U.S. History in Context (Gale/Cengage)

        x
         

        World History in Context

        x

        ProQuest Databases

         

        BIBLIOGRAPHIES & CITATIONS

        When you use someone else's words, work, thoughts, and/or ideas, you need to give the person credit. It doesn't matter whether you quote the person word-for-word or put it in your own words (paraphrase), you need to acknowledge where the words, work, thought, or idea originated. Otherwise, you are passing it off as your own.

        Be responsible.

        Be honest.

        Show integrity.

         

        Record Bibliographic Information

        Don't forget to record the following for each source you use:

        • Author/creator
        • Title of article, chapter, film, webpage
        • Page number
        • Name of magazine, newspaper, journal, book, website
        • Publication date
        • Name of subscription database (if used)
        • Format (web, print)
        • Date of access (if found online)

        NoodleTools

        • NoodleTools
          NoodleTools is a bibliographic software tool to assist you in creating accurate source citations in MLA and APA formats.

        Citation Resources

        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip