This is the "The Criminal Mind: Biography of a Serial Criminal" page of the "JLS: Serial Criminals" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

JLS: Serial Criminals  

Last Updated: Jan 27, 2014 URL: http://springbrookhs.montgomeryschoolsmd.libguides.com/SerialCriminals Print Guide RSS Updates
The Criminal Mind: Biography of a Serial Criminal Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

INQUIRY and STRATEGIES

 

Identify the Problem & Ask Questions

What makes someone become a serial criminal?  What factors are involved?

     

    Assignment Specifics

    What is the best way to communicate the information?

    After gathering background information (childhood, adolescence, and adulthood), analyze your findings.  What are the factors you think were influential in leading this person to become a serial criminal?

    Use evidence to support/defend your reasons!

    Final Products:

    Part I (Audience: Teacher)

    • 3-4 page paper (12 pt, double-spaced)
    • Works Cited (MLA format, 7th edition)
    • Cover sheet

    Part II (Audience: Classmates and Teacher)

    • PowerPoint Presentation

      Search Strategies

      • Locate and search appropriate resources
      • Vary search terms (don't use the same search terms over and over again)
      • Think of synonyms
      • Use Boolean searching
      • Use "quotation marks" to search for exact phrases
      • Search for a variety of sources - print text, video, audio, still images, speeches, interviews, charts, graphs, research and case studies, and more!
      • Be creative

      Some search terms to try:

      • life, biography, childhood
      • adolescence, teenager, youth
      • impact
      • influence
      • behavior
      • factors, causes
      • profiling, "criminal investigative analysis", "investigative psychology"
      • "criminal psychology"
      • "personality profiling"
          
         

        ImageQuest (Photographs)

        DE Streaming (Videos)

         

        RESOURCES

        Usernames and passwords for subscription databases and e-books are located under the Contents section of the Edline homepage.

         

        Print Resources: Destiny

        destiny logo

        Destiny Library Catalog

        Log in

        Select Catalog tab

        Montgomery County Public Library (MCPL)

        Use your MCPL Library Card to access the subscription databases:

         

        GVRL eBook Subcollection

        x
         

        Student Resources in Context (Gale/Cengage)

        x
         

        SIRS

        logo

        ProQuest Databases

        Use the Keyword/Natural Langage Search!

        Free Online Resources

        Take a moment to read the 'About Us' information.

        • Who is providing the information?
        • Where did the author find his/her facts, data, information?
        • What is the purpose of the site?
        • When was the site last updated?
        • What is the possible bias?
         

        BIBLIOGRAPHIES & CITATIONS

        When you use someone else's words, work, thoughts, and/or ideas, you need to give the person credit. It doesn't matter whether you quote the person word-for-word or put it in your own words (paraphrase), you need to acknowledge where the words, work, thought, or idea originated. Otherwise, you are passing it off as your own.

        Be responsible.

        Be honest.

        Show integrity.

         

        Record Bibliographic Information

        Don't forget to record the following for each source you use:

        • Author/creator
        • Title of article, chapter, film, webpage
        • Page number
        • Name of magazine, newspaper, journal, book, website
        • Publication date
        • Name of subscription database (if used)
        • Format (web, print)
        • Date of access (if found online)

        NoodleTools

        • NoodleTools
          NoodleTools is a bibliographic software tool to assist you in creating accurate source citations in MLA and APA formats.

        Citation Resources

        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip