This is the "Film Movements and Theories" page of the "IB Film Studies: The Historical Development of Narrative Film Technique" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

IB Film Studies: The Historical Development of Narrative Film Technique  

Last Updated: Nov 9, 2016 URL: http://springbrookhs.montgomeryschoolsmd.libguides.com/content.php?pid=424638 Print Guide RSS Updates
Film Movements and Theories Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

INQUIRY and STRATEGIES

A few Film Movements:

  • German Expressionism
  • French New Wave
  • New Hollywood
  • Italian Neo-Realism
  • Yugoslav Black Wave
  • Japanese New Wave

*there are many more!

 

Identify the Problem & Ask Questions

What is the cinematic context of the film?

How does the film contribute to the gradual development of narrative film technique over time?

What is the socio-cultural context for the film?

The audience should be able to answer these questions after your presentation!

     

    Assignment Specifics

    What is the best way to communicate the information?

    DOCUMENTARY

    OR

    LIVE PRESENTATION?

    Items to be produced:

    • Documentary film script
      (15-20 minutes)
    • Presentation
      (include several film clips)

      Documentary Film Script

      Search Strategies

      • Locate and search appropriate resources
      • Vary search terms (don't use the same search terms over and over again)
      • Think of synonyms
      • Use Boolean searching
      • Use "quotation marks" to search for exact phrases
      • Be creative

      Some search terms to try:

      • significance
      • "historical context"
      • criticism
      • "cinematic tradition"
      • contribution
      • "narrative technique"

       

          
         

        RESOURCES

        Usernames and passwords are available in the Library Media Center.

        OR...join the Library Media Center Google Classroom (code available in the Library Media Center)

         

        Destiny

        destiny logo

        Destiny Library Catalog 
         
        S
        earch the print collection,
        subscription databases,
        & free online resources.

        Click on the tree to EXPLORE the possibilities! 

        Film Call Number 791.43

         

        Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale)

        Contains a variety of film ebooks.  Browse the Arts and the General Reference sections.

        EBSCO Subscription Databases

        • EBSCOhost Research Databases
          MasterFILE Premier
          History Reference Center
          Science Reference Center
          Auto Repair Reference Center
          Student Research Center

        JSTOR Subscription Database (Ithaka)

        ProQuest Databases (Subscription Database)

        Free Online Resources

        GENERAL/ONLINE FILM RESOURCES
        Recommended by Mr. Goldman

         

        BIBLIOGRAPHIES & CITATIONS

        When you use someone else's words, work, thoughts, and/or ideas, you need to give the person credit. It doesn't matter whether you quote the person word-for-word or put it in your own words (paraphrase), you need to acknowledge where the words, work, thought, or idea originated. Otherwise, you are passing it off as your own.

        Be responsible.

        Be honest.

        Show integrity.

         

        Record Bibliographic Information

        Don't forget to record the following for each source you use:

        • Author/creator/director
        • Title of article, chapter, film, webpage
        • Page number
        • Name of magazine, newspaper, journal, book, website
        • Publication date
        • Name of subscription database (if used)
        • Format (web, print)
        • Date of access (if found online)

        NoodleTools

        • NoodleTools
          NoodleTools is a bibliographic software tool to assist you in creating accurate source citations in MLA and APA formats.
          Log in with your MCPS GAFE account.

        Citation Resources

        Other Sites for Home Use

        Recommended by Mr. Goldman

        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip