This is the "Forces of Change" page of the "MWH: Forces of Change" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MWH: Forces of Change  

How did the forces of change influence political, ecnomic, and social systems?
Last Updated: Mar 7, 2014 URL: http://springbrookhs.montgomeryschoolsmd.libguides.com/forcesofchange Print Guide RSS Updates
Forces of Change Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Identify the Problem & Ask Questions

How did he forces of change influence political, economic, and social systems during the Industrial Revolution?

  • China
  • India
  • Mexico
  • South Africa

Industrial Revolution (click on this link to read an article from the Encyclopædia Britannica)

     

    Assignment Specifics

    Industrialism Characteristics

    • manufacturing more widespread than agriculture
    • need for new markets to sell goods
    • complex financial system develops
    • machines replace human labor
    • poor, working class grows and a middle class emerges

    Democratic Ideals

    • citizen participation in government
    • constitutional, representative government
    • limited government and rule of law
    • equal opportunity and protected rights
    • right to petition
    • labor unions fight for equal rights, power

    Communication

    • faster, more efficient methods and technologies
    • ideas influence global changes
    • cultural diffusion occurs
    • interaction through trade

    Nationalism

    • loyalty to the nation-state is more important than ethnic group, village, or region
    • may lead to military and economic competition with others (imperialism)
    • may lead to ethnocentrism and rejection of different cultures
    • may unite a society when faced with foreign domination
    • religion may play a strong role in nationalism 

      Search Terms

      • "Democratic Ideals" ("power of the people"; certain rights and freedoms)
      • Industrialism ("market-based economy"; machinery; production; "goods and services")
      • Nationalism ("shared identity"; "common identity")
      • Communication (exchange information OR beliefs OR culture; individuals; societies)  
          
         

        Subscription Databases

        Usernames and passwords for subscription databases are located under the Contents section of the Edline homepage.

        DE Streaming

        ImageQuest

        • ImageQuest
          Brittanica Image Quest provides over 2 million rights-cleared images from collections that can be downloaded, printed, and reused in a variety of teacher or student made print or digital projects. The images include photos, diagrams, artwork, and images from sources including Doring Kindersly and Getty Images.

        Creative Commons: Images

        Check Terms of Use before using material found on these sites AND always credit and/or link to the site.

        ProQuest Databases

        Free Online Resources: Countries

        Check Terms of Use/ Licensing before using material found on these sites AND always credit and/or link to the site.

         

        Record Bibliographic Information

        Don't forget to record the following for each source you use:

        • Author/creator
        • Title of article, chapter, film, webpage
        • Page number
        • Name of magazine, newspaper, journal, book, website
        • Publication date
        • Name of subscription database (if used)
        • Format (web, print)
        • Date of access (if found online)

        NoodleTools

        • NoodleTools
          NoodleTools is a bibliographic software tool to assist you in creating accurate source citations in MLA and APA formats.

        Citation Resources

        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip