This is the "Forms of Energy" page of the "Forms of Energy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Forms of Energy  

Investigate one key form of energy and present your findings in a formal research paper.
Last Updated: Nov 22, 2013 URL: http://springbrookhs.montgomeryschoolsmd.libguides.com/formsofenergy Print Guide RSS Updates
Forms of Energy Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

INQUIRY and STRATEGIES

 

Identify the Problem & Ask Questions

What are the different forms of energy used every day by humans?  

 

Forms of Energy

Select one of the following forms of energy to research:

  • solar
  • wind
  • electrical
  • mechanical
  • nuclear
  • chemical
  • thermal
  • electromagnetic
 

Assignment Specifics

What is the best way to communicate the information?

A formal research paper written in MLA format (7th edition):

  • includes a title
  • is typed using 12 point, Times New Roman font
  • is double spaced
  • cites sources (gives credit to the sites used)

    Search Strategies

    • Locate and search appropriate resources
    • Vary search terms (don't use the same search terms over and over again)
    • Think of synonyms
    • Use Boolean searching
    • Use "quotation marks" to search for exact phrases
    • Search for a variety of sources - print text, video, audio, still images, speeches, interviews, charts, graphs, research and case studies, and more!
    • Be creative

    Some search terms to try:

    • history
    • controversy
    • pro, con
    • renewable
    • "daily life"
    • examples

    Example search phrases:

    • "solar energy" history
    • examples "nuclear energy"  "daily life"
        
       

      RESOURCES

      Usernames and passwords for subscription databases and e-books are located under the Contents section of the Edline homepage.

      Free Online Resources

      Take a moment to read the 'About Us' information.

      • Who is providing the information?
      • Where did the author find his/her facts, data, information?
      • What is the purpose of the site?
      • When was the site last updated?
      • What is the possible bias?
      • Energy Kids
        U.S. Energy Information Administration
        U.S. Department of Energy
        *Forms of Energy (Potential vs. Kinetic)
        *Energy Sources (Renewable and Nonrenewable)
        *Using and Saving Energy (Basics, Homes, Industrial, Transportation and more!)
        *History of Energy (Timelines and Famous People)
      • Flying Turtle Website
        What Type of Energy Is It?
        by David E. Watson, 2010
      • Energy Transformations
        Forms of energy and how energy is transferred and transformed.
        by Walter Sanford (Personal Website)
        Last update - December 25, 2006
      • U.S. Energy Information Administration
        Independent Statistics & Analysis
        U.S. Energy Information Administration
        U.S. Department of Energy
      • Energy.gov
        U.S. Department of Energy

      ProQuest Por/Con Database

      • SIRS Knowledge Source
        Once in this PRO/CON database, click on the MORE ISSUES link on the right side of the screen.
        LOOK FOR:
        Alternative Energy Sources
        Clean Coal
        Conservation of Natural Resources
        Dependence on Foreign Oil
        Drilling for Oil
        Fracking
        Nuclear Energy
        Solar Energy and more!
       

      ImageQuest (Photographs)

       

      GVRL E-books

      x
       

      BIBLIOGRAPHIES & CITATIONS

      When you use someone else's words, work, thoughts, and/or ideas, you need to give the person credit. It doesn't matter whether you quote the person word-for-word or put it in your own words (paraphrase), you need to acknowledge where the words, work, thought, or idea originated. Otherwise, you are passing it off as your own.

      Be responsible.

      Be honest.

      Show integrity.

       

      Record Bibliographic Information

      Don't forget to record the following for each source you use:

      • Author/creator
      • Title of article, chapter, film, webpage
      • Page number
      • Name of magazine, newspaper, journal, book, website
      • Publication date
      • Name of subscription database (if used)
      • Format (web, print)
      • Date of access (if found online)

      NoodleTools

      • NoodleTools
        NoodleTools is a bibliographic software tool to assist you in creating accurate source citations in MLA and APA formats.

      Citation Resources

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip