This is the "The Namesake: Background Investigation" page of the "English12: The Namesake (Background Investigation)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English12: The Namesake (Background Investigation)  

Last Updated: Oct 20, 2014 URL: http://springbrookhs.montgomeryschoolsmd.libguides.com/namesake Print Guide RSS Updates
The Namesake: Background Investigation Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

INQUIRY and STRATEGIES

Investigation: Action Plan

Create an action plan!

  1. Ask questions about the topic
  2. Identify the information needed to answer the questions (this is the INFORMATION NEED)
  3. Create a list of search terms (key words from the question and the information need)
  4. Develop a search strategy: Where will you look for the information needed? What types of resources will you use?

As you search, fine-tune the question and make sure you use a VARIETY of sources!

      
     

    Identify the Problem & Ask Questions

    How does immigrating to America impact families and influence traditional Indian culture?

    Sub-topics for Potential Investigation:

    • marriage ceremony
    • naming ceremony
    • daily Bengal life during the 1970's
    • transition issues faced during the 60's, 70's, and 80's
    • Indian influence on pop culture
    • overview of major Indian religions
    • Indian fashion
    • Indian food

    Information Need

    What information do you really need?

    What is the purpose of the assignment?  Who is the intended audience? How will you know when you have found enough high-quality information?

        

      Search Strategies

      • Locate and search appropriate resources
      • Vary search terms (don't use the same search terms over and over again)
      • Think of synonyms
      • Use Boolean searching
      • Use "quotation marks" to search for exact phrases
      • Be creative
      • Search for a variety of sources - print text, video, audio, still images, speeches, interviews, charts, graphs, research and case studies, and more!

      Some search terms to try:

      • ceremony
      • tradition
      • generational
      • impact
      • "Indian immigrant"
      • "pop culture"
      • challenges, problems, issues
      • influence
      • assimilation

      Example of a search phrase:

      • "Indian immigrant" AND (America OR United States) AND impact
          
         

        Assignment Specifics

        What is the best way to communicate the information?

        Create an effective, insightful multimedia presentation that provides background information about the culture of India (as it relates to Indian immigrants and the inevitable clashes that immigration brings to a family).

          Presentation Ideas

          Need presentation ideas?  Click on the link below!

           

          RESOURCES

          Usernames and passwords for subscription databases and e-books are located under the Contents section of the Edline homepage.

           

          Print Resources: Destiny

          destiny logo

          Destiny Library Catalog

          Log in

          Select Catalog tab

           

          GVRL E-book Subcollection

          x

          EBSCO

           

          Student Resources in Context (Gale/Cengage)

          x
           

          U.S. History in Context (Gale/Cengage)

          x

          ProQuest Databases

           

          National Geographic Magazine (1888-Current)

          x

          Free Online Resources

          Take a moment to read the 'About Us' information.

          • Who is providing the information?
          • Where did the author find his/her facts, data, information?
          • What is the purpose of the site?
          • When was the site last updated?
          • What is the possible bias?
           

          BIBLIOGRAPHIES & CITATIONS

          When you use someone else's words, work, thoughts, and/or ideas, you need to give the person credit. It doesn't matter whether you quote the person word-for-word or put it in your own words (paraphrase), you need to acknowledge where the words, work, thought, or idea originated. Otherwise, you are passing it off as your own.

          Be responsible.

          Be honest.

          Show integrity.

           

          Record Bibliographic Information

          Don't forget to record the following for each source you use:

          • Author/creator
          • Title of article, chapter, film, webpage
          • Page number
          • Name of magazine, newspaper, journal, book, website
          • Publication date
          • Name of subscription database (if used)
          • Format (web, print)
          • Date of access (if found online)

          NoodleTools

          • NoodleTools
            NoodleTools is a bibliographic software tool to assist you in creating accurate source citations in MLA and APA formats.

          Citation Resources

          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip