This is the "Psychological Disorders" page of the "Psychological Disorders" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Psychological Disorders  

Last Updated: Apr 8, 2013 URL: http://springbrookhs.montgomeryschoolsmd.libguides.com/psychdisorders Print Guide RSS Updates
Psychological Disorders Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

INQUIRY and STRATEGIES

 

Identify the Problem & Ask Questions

How has the disorder been viewed historically?

What are some of the theories of the nature, causes, and treatment of the psychological disorder?

How is the disorder classified?

    Search Strategies

    • Locate and search appropriate resources
    • Vary search terms (don't use the same search terms over and over again)
    • Think of synonyms
    • Use Boolean searching
    • Use "quotation marks" to search for exact phrases
    • Be creative
    • Search for a variety of sources - print text, video, audio, still images, speeches, interviews, charts, graphs, research and case studies, and more!

    Some search terms to try:

    • background, history
    • description, symptoms, behaviors
    • etiology
    • classification
    • treatment
    • statistics, data
    • case studies
        
       

      Assignment Specifics

      Which presentation tools and visual aides will make the PowerPoint more effective?

        Tool/Idea Box

        How To sheets are to the right -->

        • Animoto
          Create videos from your photos, video clips, words and music
        • Bubbl.us
          Free web mind mapping tool for brainstorming or list making.
        • Make Beliefs Comix
          Free web tool to create, print and email original comic strips.
        • Poll Everywhere
          Free web tool that uses mobile phones, Twitter and the web to gather live responses in any venue: conferences, presentations, classrooms, radio, tv, print.

        • Tagxedo
          Create word clouds
        • Voki
          A free text-to-speech language tool in over 25 languages to create online lesson plans.
        • Wordle
          Create word clouds
         

        RESOURCES

        Usernames and passwords for subscription databases and e-books are located under the Contents section of the Edline homepage.

        Encyclopedia Britannica (Subscription Database)

        Health Reference Center (Facts on File Subscription Database)

         

        Student Resources in Context (Gale/Cengage)

        x
         

        E-books (GVRL)

        x
         

        Print Resources: Destiny

        destiny logo

        Destiny Library Catalog

        • Log in
        • Select Catalog tab

        Free Online Resources

        Take a moment to read the 'About Us' information.

        • Who is providing the information?
        • Where did the author find his/her facts, data, information?
        • What is the purpose of the site?
        • When was the site last updated?
        • What is the possible bias?
         

        BIBLIOGRAPHIES & CITATIONS

        When you use someone else's words, work, thoughts, and/or ideas, you need to give the person credit. It doesn't matter whether you quote the person word-for-word or put it in your own words (paraphrase), you need to acknowledge where the words, work, thought, or idea originated. Otherwise, you are passing it off as your own.

        Be responsible.

        Be honest.

        Show integrity.

         

        Record Bibliographic Information

        Don't forget to record the following for each source you use:

        • Author/creator
        • Title of article, chapter, film, webpage
        • Page number
        • Name of magazine, newspaper, journal, book, website
        • Publication date
        • Name of subscription database (if used)
        • Format (web, print)
        • Date of access (if found online)

        NoodleTools

        • NoodleTools
          NoodleTools is a bibliographic software tool to assist you in creating accurate source citations in MLA and APA formats.

        Citation Resources

        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip