This is the "English 9B" page of the "Secondary Source Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Secondary Source Research  

Last Updated: Apr 28, 2017 URL: http://springbrookhs.montgomeryschoolsmd.libguides.com/secondary Print Guide RSS Updates
English 9B Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

RESOURCES

Usernames and passwords for subscription databases and e-books are located under the Contents section of the Edline homepage.

 

Topics & Questions

Periods 1, 2, 3, and 6

Racism: How has American society and its criminal justice system reinstated Jim Crow laws?

Gender Roles: To what degree have expectations for women changed over the past 100 years?

Poverty/The Great Depression: To what extent are the attitudes of people in power responsible for stereotyping the poor? (gentrification)

Mental Health:  How have awareness and mental health resources improved the lifestyle of mental ill American over the past 100 years?

Social Class:  Why can one community have different social classes? (for example: by skin color, language, or education)

     

    Topics

    Period 5

    War and its impact on society and the individual (war mentality):

    *Alcoholism

    *Gender Roles

    *Modernism

    *Development of War Technology

      Secondary Sources

      Secondary sources analyze primary sources (commentaries, criticism, magazine & newspaper articles, and more).  Secondary sources often quote or paraphrase primary sources.

      Facts on File Subscription Database

      Make sure to ONLY use SECONDARY SOURCES from the database.

       

      Gale Subscription Databases

      Make sure to ONLY use SECONDARY SOURCES from the databases.

      x

      x

      x

      ProQuest Subscription Database

      Free Online Resources

      Take a moment to read the 'About Us' information.

      • Who is providing the information?
      • Where did the author find his/her facts, data, information?
      • What is the purpose of the site?
      • When was the site last updated?
      • What is the possible bias?
          

        Springbrook HS E-books

        • E-Books
          ABC-CLIO and Gale Virtual Reference Library

        Search Strategies

        • Locate and search appropriate resources
        • Vary search terms (don't use the same search terms over and over again)
        • Think of synonyms
        • Use Boolean searching
        • Use "quotation marks" to search for exact phrases
            
           

          Record Bibliographic Information

          Don't forget to record the following for each source you use:

          • Author/creator
          • Title of article, chapter, film, webpage
          • Page number
          • Name of magazine, newspaper, journal, book, website
          • Publication date
          • Name of subscription database (if used)
          • Format (web, print)
          • Date of access (if found online)
          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip